What are the Available Courses at the University of Limpopo

Admission Criteria

For prospective students aiming to enroll in undergraduate programs at the University of Limpopo (UL), the following requirements apply:

  1. National Senior Certificate (NSC) with Bachelor exemption.
  2. Life Orientation with a minimum achievement level of three (3).
  3. Proficiency in English aligned with the university’s language policy, with a minimum achievement level of three (3).
  4. Minimum achievement levels in specific subjects as outlined in each Faculty’s Calendars:
  • Four 20-credit subjects with a minimum NSC achievement level of four (4) for degree programs.
  • Four 20-credit subjects with a minimum NSC achievement level of three (3) for diploma programs.
  1. Meeting the required Admission Point Score (APS) as specified in the Faculty Calendars. However, meeting the minimum APS does not guarantee admission.

Matriculation Certificate (prior to 2008):

Students who completed Grade 12 before 2008 can apply for admission using the normal Grade 12 Senior Certificate with full university exemption by converting their grade symbols to an APS.

National Certificate (Vocational):

Students with a National Certificate Vocational (NC(V)) Level 4 qualification must meet specific requirements, subject to Faculty Admission Specifications and Placement Tests.

University Programs and Faculties

The University of Limpopo offers Associate Degree and Bachelor (Hons) Degree programs through its four faculties:

  1. Faculty of Health Sciences
  2. Faculty of Humanities
  3. Faculty of Science and Agriculture
  4. Faculty of Management and Law

Here’s an overview of the programs offered within each faculty:

Faculty of Health Sciences:

  • School of Health Sciences: Nursing, Human Nutrition, Health Promotion Unit, Optometry, Pharmacy, Medical Sciences.

Faculty of Humanities:

  • School of Education: Various education programs including Bachelor of Education, Post Graduate Certificate In Education (PGCE), and Master of Education (M.Ed).
  • School of Languages and Communication Studies: Programs in languages, communication studies, media studies, and information studies.
  • School of Social Sciences: Programs in psychology, social work, community police management, corrections management, and clinical psychology.
See also  Application Requirements for Cape Peninsular University of Technology

Faculty of Science And Agriculture:

  • School of Mathematical and Computer Sciences: Programs in computer science, mathematics, statistics, and operations research.
  • School of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences: Programs in agriculture, environmental studies, aquaculture, and agricultural management.
  • School of Molecular and Life Sciences: Programs in biochemistry, microbiology, biotechnology, physiology, environmental health, and biodiversity.
  • School of Physical and Mineral Sciences: Programs in geology and general science.

Faculty of Management and Law:

  • School of Economics and Management: Programs in administration, transport management, accounting, and auditing.
  • School of Law: Programs in law, with a focus on development law.
  • Turfloop Graduate School of Leadership: Programs in business administration, development, and public administration.
  • School of Accountancy (SoA): Programs in accountancy and commerce, including bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral degrees.

For more detailed information about specific programs and admission requirements, prospective students are encouraged to visit the university’s official website or contact the admissions office.