How to convert N6 to Diploma?

To convert your N6 qualification into a National Diploma, follow these comprehensive steps outlined based on the provided information:

  1. Complete Your N4, N5, and N6 Courses:
    • Begin by completing your N4, N5, and N6 courses in your chosen field of specialization. These courses can be undertaken consecutively or with breaks in between, over a period ranging from 18 to 36 months. The courses offer theoretical knowledge and practical skills required for your specialized area. The duration and credits associated with each level vary depending on whether you’re pursuing Business Studies or Engineering Studies:
      • Business Studies: Each level (N4, N5, N6) has a duration of 0.5 years and is worth 60 credits.
      • Engineering Studies: Each level (N4, N5, N6) has a duration of 0.33 years and is worth 40 credits.
  2. Undergo Practical Training:
    • After successfully completing your N6 subjects, the next step is to undertake practical training in the workplace. This practical experience is crucial as it allows you to apply the theory learned in a real-world setting, thus bridging the gap between theoretical knowledge and practical application.
      • For General Study Diplomas (typically Business Studies): You are required to complete 18 months of practical experience, which is equivalent to 180 credits.
      • For Engineering Studies Diplomas: You must complete 24 months of practical training, equating to 240 credits.
  3. Entry Requirements:
    • To embark on this qualification path, you need one of the following:
      • A National Senior Certificate (NSC).
      • A Senior Certificate.
      • A Further Education and Training Certificate (FETC).
      • An N3 qualification in the relevant specialization area.
    • It is assumed that you are already competent in Communication at NQF Level 4 in the language of teaching and learning of the institution offering the qualification, and have the theoretical knowledge and practical skills required for the specialization at NQF Level 4 or N3 Level.
  4. Awarding of the National Diploma:
    • Upon completion of the required practical experience, you must submit proof of this experience to the relevant educational institution or accrediting body. This typically involves documentation of your work experience, validated by your employer or supervisor.
    • Once your practical training and the theoretical components (N4+N5+N6 courses) are verified and approved, you will be awarded the National Diploma. This diploma signifies your competence as a second-level technician in your field of study, equipped with both the practical skills and theoretical knowledge necessary for employment or further education.
See also  How to contact the African Training Centre

In summary, converting your N6 to a National Diploma involves completing the required N4, N5, and N6 courses, followed by 18 months (for General Studies) or 24 months (for Engineering Studies) of practical training in the workplace. This path ensures that you gain both the theoretical foundation and the practical experience needed to excel in your chosen vocational or technical field.