How many modules do I need to pass Unisa?

In understanding UNISA’s qualifications, credits, modules, and NQF levels, it’s important to grasp the concept of credits and how they relate to notional study hours, modules, and the overall structure of qualifications.

Credits and Notional Hours: At UNISA, credits represent the number of notional study hours required to achieve the learning outcomes of a module. One credit is equivalent to 10 notional hours, which encompasses study time, assignments, and examinations. For instance, a 12-credit module at UNISA equates to 120 notional hours of study. This suggests a commitment of at least 8 hours of study per week over a 15-week semester for each module.

Qualification Structure: Qualifications at UNISA are constructed based on a required number of credits, which are divided into modules. Undergraduate modules are typically valued at 12 credits each. A bachelor’s degree, requiring 360 credits, is composed of 30 modules of 12 credits each.

NQF Levels and Module Progression: The modules within a bachelor’s degree are distributed across different NQF levels as follows:

  • Between 8 to 10 modules of 12 credits each at NQF level 5.
  • Between 10 to 12 modules of 12 credits each at NQF level 6.
  • 10 modules of 12 credits each at NQF level 7.
  • For four-year qualifications, an additional 10 modules of 12 credits each at NQF level 7 or 8.

Progression through these levels is sequential, meaning you must first pass modules at a lower NQF level before moving on to higher-level modules. To be awarded a qualification, you must complete the requisite number of credits at the specified NQF levels.

See also  How much are Unisa fees?

Planning Your Curriculum: When planning your curriculum, it’s crucial to use the information available on the registration website to ensure you meet all the necessary requirements for your qualification. This includes completing the correct number of modules at each NQF level and accumulating the total credits needed for graduation.

NQF Levels and Qualifications: The New NQF level system categorizes qualifications from vocational, professional, and general perspectives, ranging from NQF level 5 (Higher Certificate) up to level 10 (Doctoral Degree), with the levels dictating the complexity and depth of learning. For example:

  • A Higher Certificate at NQF level 5 requires 120 credits.
  • A Diploma at NQF level 6 can require either 240 or 360 credits.
  • A Bachelor’s Degree starts from NQF level 7 and can extend to level 8 for four-year qualifications, requiring a structured progression through various modules and NQF levels to ensure comprehensive learning and specialization in your field of study.

In summary, understanding the relationship between credits, notional hours, NQF levels, and modules is key to navigating your educational journey at UNISA. This structured approach ensures that students gain in-depth knowledge and skills progressively, aligning with the requirements of their chosen field of study.