What does CA number plate stand for?

In South Africa, the “CA” on a number plate stands for Cape Town, which is the legislative capital of South Africa and the capital city of the Western Cape province. The Western Cape is one of the nine provinces in South Africa, and Cape Town is the largest city in the province.

South African number plates are alphanumeric and use a combination of letters and numbers to identify the province, city, and vehicle registration. Each province has its own unique two-letter code, which appears at the beginning of the number plate. For example, “GP” stands for Gauteng province, “KZN” stands for KwaZulu-Natal province, and “NW” stands for North West province.

The number plates are issued by the South African Department of Transport and are required for all registered vehicles. They serve as a means of identification and help law enforcement agencies to track down stolen vehicles, enforce traffic laws, and maintain road safety.